Hello! :)
Posted: 05 March 2010 05:13 AM   [ Ignore ]
New Participant
Rank
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2010-03-05

I would like any and all advice please smile.  I am very new to bird keeping with no experience what so ever, but have always wanted a parrot.  Two days ago a friend of mine said he needed a new home for his parrot, and my husband and I agreed to take her.  She’s a Nanday Conure named Jack.  I’ve been doing a lot of reading, but I have some specific questions I’d like to ask.

I read on the internet that I shouldn’t take Jack out and interact with her for atleast a week, but she’s already been out and interacted positively with three different people before I read this information, she is already happy to groom me, let me pet her and cuddle up.  Is this okay?

Jack squawks for attention a lot, and squawks very loudly whenever me or my husband leaves the room, I’m guessing this is normal too?  Is there anything I can do to stop it?  Most times of the day it’s fine but I leave for work at 6:30am some days and I don’t want to disturb my neighbours or my housemate.  Also, she was sitting with me this morning whilst my husband got ready to go to work, when he left she flew back to her cage and wouldn’t come out again, is this just another part of her settling in?

Finally, today I tried to encourage Jack to step up onto my finger (this is before I read on the internet that I shouldn’t pester her too much in the first week…) and she began to bite.  I didn’t pull away or shout, but I did tell her gently but firmly no biting, and I closed up the cage and walked away.  Is this the right thing to do?

Thanks to anyone for any advice…  smile.

Posted: 18 August 2010 03:16 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
New Participant
Rank
Total Posts:  4
Joined  2010-07-16
chrisxtina - 05 March 2010 05:13 AM