rescue macaw
Posted: 07 June 2010 08:50 PM   [ Ignore ]
New Participant
Rank
Total Posts:  4
Joined  2010-06-07

Hi my name is kevin and im new to this forum.Ok here is my story.A guy i work with has a macaw that hes had for 26 years.He has become verry ill and can no longer look after his bird.The bird is starting to pluck because the owner can no longer spend time with her.I have a african grey that ive had for 31 years so i have some experience with parrots.Today was his last day of work because of his ilness and he asked me if i would adopt her so if something happens she wouldnt go to the pound.I have done some reasearch on them and i do understand that they can be loud and need afection and keept amused with toys.I have decided that i will adopt her but i want to make it as stress free as possible.I was thinking of going over a half hr everyday for 2 weeks before i move her.Is there any other suggestion you have that i can do?Also is there anything i should know about them im not thinking of?thanks for your time….kevin

Posted: 10 June 2010 11:51 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  822
Joined  2007-06-17

Dear Kevin,
I am forwarding a response by Phoebe Linden.
All best,
Cristiana

———————————-

Hi Kevin,
Thanks a lot for joining the discussion forum at WPT and for introducing us to your new macaw friend.
First, congratulations on adopting a parrot who needs a home—that’s a wonderful thing to do for both you and the macaw.
Next, I like your idea of going over to the macaw’s existing home and visiting her so that she becomes accustomed to you. You will get a good idea of how she responds to her current caregiver and you during those visits. Be sure to take her favorite treats, probably nuts, and use them to charm her. Don’t be surprised if everyone decides that two weeks of visits are too much—together, you may decide to move her to new surroundings as soon as everyone is ready.